My two year anniversary

Reflections on what’s happened in the library since I started, two years ago.

New happenings

  • Radical weed of both fiction and non-fiction sections
  • Introduced the Accelerated Reader scheme
  • Re-written and delivered a more relevant and exciting library induction programme for year 7
  • Substantially enlarged the graphic novels and manga section
  • Introduced and encouraged more games in the library at break and lunchtimes
  • Started two new book clubs, making sure all years groups have options to participate
  • Made links with libraries and librarians via CILIP and promoted #GreatSchoolLibraries campaign

Day to day routines

  • Improved the circulation system for laptops
  • Tweaked the layout of shelves and tables for more cohesive use
  • Updated posters, removed vague posters and replaced them with meaningful and relevant ones
  • Introduced clearer labelling of books and shelves
  • De-cluttered!

Why does any of this matter?

The bottom line, my raison d’etre, is to get students reading. All of these things are done to make it easier for students to find a book, to become engaged in the art of reading, to feel comfortable in a library, to know it’s the place to come to find information and for it to be their ‘go-to’ place when they feel lost.

Our school caters for 10-16 year-olds, they want to be independent but they still need guidance, hence I’ve particularly worked on making signage and displays clearer and more concise so students can use the library by themselves. Changing the laptop borrowing procedure means they can check equipment out themselves rather than relying on a member of staff doing it for them. These may seem small changes but they free up my time so I can speak to students who have more pressing needs and give the students the feeling that this is their library, they know how to use it for themselves.

Library induction sessions that deliver clear and precise expectations and give relevant information are aimed at exciting the students about how, why and when to use the library. It’s clear that reading helps exam results but to students in year 7 who have just left primary school, that is a lifetime away. Aiming lessons at reading for pleasure whilst simultaneously using the AR scheme enables me ‘the librarian’ to build lifelong readers whilst helping me ‘the school librarian’ acknowledge the school’s need for data and assistance in identifying struggling students. Teaching students how to use a school library also teaches them how to use a public library. The decline in public funding here in the UK for such libraries means many students have never heard of or been into such a building. When I ask ‘who has used a public library’, the silence is deafening. When I ask ‘how much does it cost to join the public library’ the sums of money they suggest amuse me and when I tell them they are free, the gasps are worth every breath. I want to demonstrate to students that reading and how to obtain knowledge and information are lifelong skills and that public libraries are where they can continue their quest. I reiterate that they are free, in these days of austerity, that is crucial.

I am lucky that our school sees the library as important, wants to promote it and keep it. I was completely blown away when our senior leadership team fully endorsed and implemented the suggestion of having DEAR time. I expected to face resistance and have a long-drawn-out fight on my hands but they recognised the importance of reading and before I knew it, DEAR was up and running, such a joy and I am so appreciative of their support. The library comes under the English faculty and all the teachers appreciate what we do, none more so that our amazing head of faculty, what a gift she is. Having said that, because of budget constraints, my job-share colleague and I are employed (and paid) as library assistants and are listed as support staff rather than professionals. That’s galling but I live with it, my choice. My favourite library question has always been and will continue to be “Miss, can you help me find a good book” and when a student returns the book with a smile on their face, it makes it all worthwhile.

What’s next?

The plan for the rest of the academic year is straight-forward. We have an author visit booked for March to coincide with World Book Day, the wonderful Jenny McLachlan is coming! We shall start up our Graphic Novels and Manga club after February half-term and follow the Excelsior Awards and we shall start another new book club to shadow the Carnegie Awards (linking us to other schools and the wider reading community). My colleague will also start up the Amazing Book Awards club in May culminating in their attending the finals at Shoreham college in June. Finally, we shall focus our main spending on replenishing the non-fiction section which has been radically weeded. We are keeping Dewey but making it simplified and changing the collection away from being solely curriculum-based to being student-interest based. Results from the last two years of student library surveys tell us they want books on film, TV, sport, hair and make-up, animals and pets, biographies and well-being/mental health. We shall augment these with our own choices and I am looking forward to delivering a more meaningful selection of books that will actually be read and borrowed.


Where do we go from here?

From where I sit, it appears that our staff perceive that the library exists to provide students with a book to read and a place to do their homework and print out work. Whilst this is the bread and butter of our library, I would like to expand that and demonstrate that librarians can teach research skills and help students tackle the challenges that the online world presents. This will take time mostly because my skills are out-of-date. To that end, my Christmas present to myself was the book ‘Fact vs. Fiction’ by Jennifer LaGarde & Darren Hudgins. I also have to decide how far down the line I take this, after all, I work 2 1/2 days a week and am employed as a library assistant. The other consideration is how my dreams and visions would affect my job-share colleague. It would be unfair to put expectations on her just because I want to go in one direction.

The last word from Professor Mary Beard

“Libraries are places where exciting, radical and sometimes dangerous ideas are born”

3 comments

  1. As a new school librarian myself, I’d be really interested in seeing your year 7 induction programme in more detail. I’m six months in, and planning for primary 7 transition to secondary school. Your approach to reading for pleasure really resonates with me!

    Like

    • Hi Kirsten. I forgot to bring home ny exact lesson plans in the rush to make sure I was ready for World Book Day and our author visit next week so forgive the brief and possibly bonkers reply! For contect, I will tell you that our school has a two week timetable and each year 7 and 8 class (of about 25-30 students) get a fortnightly “library” lesson. Myself and my job-share colleague are given four lessons at the start of the academic year to teach year 7s “library skills’. Since I started here 2 years ago, I have managed to get one lesson for year 8s because I realised that they’d not really had proper lessons before and were struggling to know how to chose books. When I started, the school had just bought the Accelerated Reader programme so I had to fit that into the four week programme. Basically, week 1 is all about how the library is organised, we talk about fiction vs non-fic, graphic novels and manga, biographies, books for dyslexic readers etc. I tell them opening hours, borrowing rules, computer use, and basic layout. Before they fall alseep, I then get them to talk in small groups about who likes reading and who doesn’t, what they read and how they choose a book. We then have an open discussion around that and I finish off by really pushing home how to choose a book. I talk about genres that might suit their moods/likes/hobbies etc and also about what reading can do for them (escapism/pleasure/knowledge etc). The next two weeks are much simpler, we do a treasure hunt to show they can find things in the library in week 2, in week 3 we do their AR STAR test and then in week 4 we show them how our library management systen​ works plus an online library skills quiz which we bought from Carel. Hope this helps, good luck!

      Like

Leave a comment